Shibuya Disco Hits – Pre-release Info

Shibuya Disco Hits (Gotouchi Disco Shibuya)
Release Date: 9/16/09
Price: 2190 yen

Update! This release has been postponed indefinitely.

A collaboration between Japan’s biggest labels, including EMI, Sony BMG, Victor, and Universal. It’s similar to the recent rash of Around 40 releases, except this series will target the Around 50 crowd. Expect classic disco sounds and early 80s hits.

“Gotouchi” refers things that are unique to a particular place (think Philly Cheesteaks or New York Pizza), so the title basically refers to disco songs popular in the Shibuya area of Tokyo.

01. Daddy Cool / Boney M.
02. It’s Time to Party Now / Ray Parker Jr. and Raydio
03. You Know How to Love Me / Phyllis Hyman
04. Love Come Down / Evelyn “Champagne” King
05. Nighttime Fantasy / Vicky Sue Robinson
06. Rock Me Amadeus / Falco
07. I’m So Excited / The Pointer Sisters
08. Caribbean Queen / Billy Ocean
09. Funkin’ for Jamaica / Tom Browne
10. Got to Be Real / Cheryl Lynn
11. Rock It / Herbie Hancock
12. Let’s Groove / Earth, Wind & Fire

Pre-order at CDJapan.

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.