Anim80s 2 – Final Release Info

Anim80s 2 ~Anime Hits in 80s Disco Style~
Release Date: 11/28/12
Price: 1886 yen

Hit anime themes remade in an 80s disco-pop style. Got my copy a few days ago and it’s mostly enjoyable. I’m not gonna lie, I don’t immediately recognize what served as the inspiration for most of the tracks. Many of the songs on the first Anim80s used rather distinctive synths or beats that made their inspirations clear. For example, “Cat’s Eye” was unmistakably modeled after “Beat It” while “Shuuketsu no Sono e” imitated the synths from “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun.” The songs on Anim80s 2 don’t quite have the same recognizable hooks. However, there were many times when I was listening to the album and thought, “Wow, this sounds really familiar,” but couldn’t place the source material. In some ways it’s better that way in that it lets the productions stand on their own, but I kind of miss the fun in comparing the songs to the originals, so to speak.

Hopefully this will lead to Anim90s, as unpronounceable as that may be. I’d love to hear the themes in classic 90s eurodance style.

The album is available on iTunes JP and other Japanese download services, but as with the first Anim80s it’s mixed, so no full versions. 🙁

01. [2:21] Cha-la Head-cha-la / satsy (dance Beyond)
02. [3:23] Blue Bird / Nazo no Jinbutsu K (Rayto)
03. [1:12] Youkai Ningen Bem / Eternal Journey (dance Beyond)
04. [2:47] Give a Reason / Nazo no Jinbutsu K (Youhei Fujita)
05. [1:31] Devilman no Uta / Yamadan (Rayto)
06. [2:38] Hohoemi no Bakudan / Usa (Youhei Fujita)
07. [2:07] Tensai Bakabon / Eternal Journey (Youhei Fujita)
08. [2:08] Uchuu Senkan Yamato / Yamadan (Youhei Fujita)
09. [2:45] Go Tight! / Shihori (dance Beyond)
10. [2:49] United Force / Nagisa (dance Beyond)
11. [1:53] Kizudarake no Tenshi / Rock Iriki (Youhei Fujita)
12. [1:27] Yukai Tsukai Kaibutsu Kun / Nikuno Bang Bang Ji (Youhei Fujita)
13. [1:24] Wai Wai World / Usa (dance Beyond)
14. [0:56] Gegege no Kitaro / Sunplaza Nakano Kun (dance Beyond)
15. [2:17] Sazae-san / Angel Kumi (dance Beyond)
16. [1:52] Boku Doraemon / Usa (Rayto)
17. [1:53] Ashita no Joe / satsy (dance Beyond)
18. [1:42] Yuke Yuke Hyuma / Sunplaza Nakano Kun feat. DJ Yossy (dance Beyond)
19. [2:30] Kaze no Tani no Nausicaä / Contrabass-ko Kei (dance Beyond)
20. [2:16] Sora ni Saku / Reiko Aizawa (dance Beyond)
21. [2:41] Hajimete no Chu / Kei (Youhei Fujita)
22. [3:06] Seishoujo Ryouiki / Miyabi (dance Beyond)
23. [2:47] Top o Nerae ~Fly High~ / Hanatan (dance Beyond)
24. [3:09] Ushiroyubi Sasaregumi / Contrabass-ko Kei & Kei (dance Beyond)
25. [2:00] Pegasus Gensou / PJ Bomber (dance Beyond)
26. [2:12] Moete Hero / Nikuno Bang Bang Ji (Youhei Fujita)
27. [2:20] Sorairo Days / Hanatan (dance Beyond)
28. [2:01] Mazinger Z / satsy (Youhei Fujita)
29. [2:26] Precure 5, Smile go go! / Nagisa (Youhei Fujita)
30. [3:42] We Are! / Tsukareta Otoko (dance Beyond)

Pre-order at CDJapan.

Leave a Comment

Please note: Comment moderation is enabled and may delay your comment. There is no need to resubmit your comment.